top of page
  • recollection

depression distortion- a piece by haley parelman



perhaps seeing the world through blue tinted glasses changed my perspective of love.


melancholy rhythms were supposed to break me.

what broke me was knowing that love wasn’t what i always thought it would be.

my love story wasn’t the fairytale i dreamed of

because when mine went away, all the love left in this world faded with it.


suddenly my idea of love was distorted by the shadow cast upon my mind

“love is pain”

“it will kill you”

“it. doesn’t. even. exist.”

the voice became louder than the mind trying to ignore it.

a world of love disappeared.


but when i finally removed my blue tinted glasses,

i found love in everything.


i saw people’s eyes light up when they talked about something they love.

grey turned to green and brown turned to gold.

i heard glimmers of hope trapped inside sad songs that would numb me.

thunder used to scare me.

but i loved the way it brought the smell of rain pattering on the pavement.

i loved how something so loud could create a world so silent.

honey dripping from apples reminded me of a time when blue didn’t even exist.

simple.

sweet.

laying outside surrounded by dandelions, i could finally feel the warmth of the sun on my skin.


my world of love returned.


- by haley parelman

(photo by @wackography)


bottom of page