top of page
  • recollection

Broken-Hearted Four Line Poems- By Haley Parelman


She was lost in her own personal river of despair.

And he told her he would pull her out.

But when she crumbled at his feet,

He left.



I fell in love with a sad boy,

a sad boy that didn't like to talk.

And me?

I was a sad girl that needed to.



I think she forgot what happiness felt like.

She thought she was happy when she was with him.

That was not happiness.

She was just feeling not so lonely anymore.



I wasn't ready to lose you.

I wasn't ready to lose you because giving my feelings to someone

takes all my strength,

and I wasn't ready to do it all again.



I didn't try hard enough to fix us.

I made him feel like I didn't love him anymore.

Spoiler alert:

I loved him more than I loved myself.



I put everything into fixing us,

And he gave up on me.

“We’re unfixable,” he would say.

He just wasn't willing to try.



I used to saturate myself

with the final feeling left inside me.

And when I felt numb again, I took yours.


bottom of page